HB294 was merged together with HB123, HB125, HB113, HB271, and HB215. Each of these bills was previously discussed here individually. This conglomeration of bills passed and it effects the following changes:
- The minimum age for a concealed carry endorsement (CCW) has been reduced to 21 years (from 23 years).
- Live fire exercises and tests for CCW applicants must use both a revolver and a semiautomatic pistol.
- Fully automatic firearms, short barreled rifles or shotguns, and sound suppressors are now legal in Missouri so long as the possession is in conformity with federal law.
- Weapons restricted under Missouri law are allowed if “reasonably related to a lawful dramatic performance.”
- The official duty requirement for exceptions to unlawful use of weapons that was passed last year has been narrowed to cover discharge or threats but not possession or concealment.
- Fire investigators have been added to the individuals excepted from unlawful use of weapons (the so-called “Only Ones”).
- Members or employees of the General Assembly who possess a CCW may carry a concealed firearm in the state capitol building.
- Offenders of unlawful use of weapons are not eligible for suspended sentences if they have previously received a suspended sentence.
- Attempts to purchase firearms or ammunition in violation of federal law is a felony and may be prosecuted under Missouri statute.
- Interstate sales of firearms is allowed so long as the transaction conforms to federal law (I believe federal law restricts interstate sales of handguns but not long guns).
- Sales tax on firearms or ammunition cannot be levied at a higher rate than sporting goods or hunting equipment.
- The expiration date of nondriver’s licenses containing a concealed carry endorsement will coincide with the expiration of the CCW and the fee for such a license is $3.
- Municipalities may regulate the discharge of pneumatic guns (I need to research this more to determine whether it increases or decreases the power of local jurisdictions).
The combined bill passed in the Missouri Senate with amendments on May 11 (Yeas: 27, Nays 6) and the amended bill passed in the Missouri House of Representatives on May 13 (Ayes: 125, Noes: 25). Since this is more than a two-thirds majority in both houses, I believe this bill will become law with or without the Governor’s signature. Most of these changes will take effect August 28, 2011. The changes regarding the expiration dates of nondriver’s licenses may take effect anytime between now and January 1, 2013.